This is the "Home" page of the "Surgery" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information resources available from BIDMC Knowledge Services and Countway Library. Books and journals listed highlight recent additions to the collections. For complete holdings search the library catalog or contact KnowledgeServices@BIDMC.Harvard.edu.
Last Updated: May 25, 2016 URL: http://bidmc.libguides.com/surgery Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

High Impact Surgery Journals

The top 20 surgery journals ranked by impact factor from the Journal Citation Reports Database, 2014.

Many of these titles are from the Countway Library Collection, so you will need your Harvard ID/PIN for access. Additional titles from BIDMC Knowledge Services are listed in the column to the right.

Cover Art
Annals of Surgery
Publication Date: Online - 1996 to present

Additional Access: Harvard Holdings 1885-present
(Harvard ID/PIN required)

Cover Art
Journal of Neurology Neurosurgery and Psychiatry
Publication Date: Online - 1920 to present

Cover Art
Journal of Heart and Lung Transplantation
Publication Date: Harvard Online - 1997 to present


Second backfile goes back to 1999.
(Harvard ID/PIN required)

Cover Art
American Journal of Transplantation
Publication Date: Harvard Online: 2001 to present

(Pick link from Wiley for best coverage)
(Harvard ID/PIN required)

Cover Art
British Journal of Surgery BJS
Publication Date: 1998 to present (with 12 Month delay)

For coverage earlier than 1998, See Harvard online and select link from Wiley
(Harvard ID/PIN required)

Cover Art
Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery
Publication Date: Online 1889 to present


Additional Access through Harvard; See Journals@Ovid
(Requires Harvard ID/PIN)

Cover Art
American Journal of Surgical Pathology
Select top link for broadest coverage. Harvard ID/PIN required.

Cover Art
Journal of the American College of Surgeons
ISBN: 10727515
Harvard ID/PIN required

Cover Art
Endoscopy
ISBN: 0013726X
Publication Date: 2000 to present

Additional Access through Harvard
(Harvard ID/PIN required)

Cover Art
Archives of Surgery - JAMA Surgery (2013+)
Publication Date: title changed to JAMA Surgery in 2013
For issues before 2013 (Archives of Surgery) go to http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:HUL.ejournals:sfx954922843243
Harvard ID/PIN required

Cover Art
Liver Transplantation
ISBN: 15276465
Harvard ID/PIN required

Cover Art
Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery
ISBN: 00225223
Publication Date: 1995 to present

Cover Art
Surgery for Obesity and Related Diseases
ISBN: 15507289
Publication Date: 2007 to present
Harvard ID and PIN required

Cover Art
JAMA Surgery - (Achives of Surgery prior to 2013)
Publication Date: 1998 to present
Additional Access through Harvard:

(Harvard ID/PIN required)

Cover Art
Annals of Surgical Oncology
ISBN: 10689265
Publication Date: 1997 to present online
(Harvard ID/PIN required)

Cover Art
Annals of Thoracic Surgery
ISBN: 00034975
Publication Date: 1995 to present
Access through Harvard
(Harvard ID/PIN required)
Older volumes in print.

Cover Art
Transplantation
ISBN: 00411337
Publication Date: 1963 - present online

Additional access through Harvard:
1963 to present
(Harvard ID/PIN required)

Cover Art
Diseases of the Colon and Rectum
Publication Date: 2005 - present
Access through Harvard
(Harvard ID/PIN required)

Cover Art
Obesity Surgery
ISBN: 09608923
Publication Date: 1997 to present

Additional Access through Harvard:
1997 to present
(Harvard ID / PIN required)

Cover Art
Journal of Neurosurgery
ISBN: 00223085
Publication Date: 1944 to present

Additional Access through Harvard:
1944 to present
(Harvard ID/PIN required)

 

General Textbooks: online/in print, BIDMC/HMS

An outstanding collection of print and online surgical textbooks are available to you through BIDMC Knowledge Services and Countway Library (HMS). If you can't find a title you need, let us know and we will be glad to help you borrow it. We welcome you purchase recommendations at KnowledgeServices@BIDMC.Harvard.edu

Cover Art
Scientific American Surgery - Stanley W. Ashley, MD, FACS, Editor-in-Chief, ed
Call Number: Decker
ISBN: 1547-1616.
Publication Date: 2015
Scientific American Surgery was developed to provide comprehensive and up-to-date medical information. This resource is available online, and is continually updated.

Cover Art
Lange - Current Procedures - Surgery - Gerard Doherty; Rebecca Minter
ISBN: 9780071453165
Publication Date: 2010-07-16

Cover Art
Cardiac Surgery in the Adult - Lawrence H. Cohn
ISBN: 9780071469135
Publication Date: 2007-08-07

Cover Art
Mastery of Surgery - Frank B. Pomposelli (Editor); Kirby I. Bland; Josef E. Fischer; Daniel B. Jones (Editor); Gilbert R. Upchurch (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781608317400
Publication Date: 2011-12-20
Havard ID/PIN required for access. he scope of Fischer’s Mastery of Surgery, Sixth Edition, is consistent with the broad training of a general surgeon, providing extensive coverage of vascular surgery as well as of common thoracic, breast, esophageal, endocrine, colorectal, gastric, pancreatic, liver, and biliary procedures. Each procedural chapter reviews the essentials of diagnosis, anatomy, and pre-operative planning, but focuses most heavily on step-by-step depictions and descriptions of procedures. Each chapter concludes, as is traditional for this classic text, with an editorial commentary which strives to put the chapter in a broad context and provide helpful critiques of the most recent literature



Cover Art
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery - Courtney M. Townsend; R. Daniel Beauchamp; B Mark Evers; Kenneth L. Mattox
ISBN: 9781437715606
Publication Date: 2012-02-09
Harvard ID/PIN required.

Cover Art
The Perioperative Medicine Consult Handbook - Christopher J. Wong (Editor); Nason P. Hamlin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461432203
Publication Date: 2012-11-07
Harvard ID/PIN required for access. Patients with a range of medical conditions undergo surgeries of varying levels of risk, and the evolving field of consult medicine aims to address their needs, whether pre- or post-surgery....Indispensable to residents and consulting physicians as well.

 

BIDMC Surgery Journals

Cover Art
Advances in Surgery
ISBN: 00653411
Publication Date: PRINT v. 22, 1989 - v. 27, 1994; v. 31, 1997 - v. 34, 2000
Print only - Visit Knowledge Services Collection
email: knowledgeservices@bidmc.harvard.edu or call 617-632- 8480 to request an article scan

African Journal of Paediatric Surgery.
ISBN: 0974-5998
Publication Date: 1/1/2008 - present

Cover Art
American Journal of Surgery
ISBN: 0002-9610
Publication Date: 1/1/1995 - present; print v. 165 1993- v. 192, 2006
Print volumes in the Agoos Medical Library Collection

Annals of Surgery
ISBN: 00034932,15281140
Publication Date: 1885- present
Harvard http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:HUL.ejournals:sfx954925380983
1885 volume: 1 until 2007 volume: 246 issue: 3. [PubMed Central:Full Text]

BIDMC - online 1996 to present
http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=toc&SEARCH=00000658-201603000-00000.kc&LINKTYPE=asBody&LINKPOS=1&D=ovft
PubMed Central (PMC) 01/01/1885 - 09/30/2007
Print: v. 215, 1992 - v. 230, 1999 and current year & previous year

PubMed Central (PMC) 01/01/1885 - 09/30/2007

Annals of Surgical Innovation and Research
ISBN: 17501164
Publication Date: 2007-present

Cover Art
Annals of the Royal College of Surgeons
ISBN: 00358843
Publication Date: 1996 to present Current year embargoed
Print holdings 1992-1999, current and previous years

BMC Surgery
ISBN: 1471-2482
Publication Date: 2001-present

Current Problems in Surgery
ISBN: 00113840
Publication Date: v. 32 1995-V.46, 2009
See Knowledge Services Print Collection

European Journal of Surgery
ISBN: 1102-4151
Publication Date: 04/19/1998 - 12/02/2002
Print v. 157, 1991 - v. 163, 1997 in the Knowledge Services Collection

Cover Art
Journal of Cardiac Surgery
ISBN: 08860440(print)15408191(online).
Publication Date: 1997 - present

Cover Art
Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery
ISBN: 1091255X,18734626
Publication Date: 1/1/1997- 2006

Journal of Gynecologic Surgery
ISBN: 1042-4067, 1557-7724
Publication Date: 1998-present (current year not available)

Journal of Minimal Access Surgery
ISBN: 0972-9941, 1998-3921
Publication Date: 2005 - present

Minimally Invasive Surgery
ISBN: 20901445
Publication Date: 2012- present

Open Access Surgery
ISBN: 11787082
Publication Date: 9/1/2008 - present

Cover Art
Open Journal of Cardiovascular Surgery
ISBN: 11790652
Publication Date: 7/1/2008 - present

Patient Safety in Surgery
ISBN: 1754-9493
Publication Date: 2007 - present

Plastic Surgery International
ISBN: 2090-147X
Publication Date: 9/1/2012 - present

 

Comments and Suggestions

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

More BIDMC Surgery Journals

Annals of Plastic Surgery
ISBN: 01487043,15363708
Publication Date: Online 1/1/2004 - 12/31/2009; print 1992-2000
Print volumes v. 28, 1992 - v45, 2000 available in Agoos Library BIDMC Knowledge Services
Also available at HMS: http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:HUL.ejournals:sfx954925476464

Cover Art
Archives of International Surgery
ISBN: 22789596
Publication Date: 1/1/2012 - present

British Journal of Surgery BJS
ISBN: 0007-1323, 1365-2168
Publication Date: 01/01/1998 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Print v. 71, 1984 - v. 81, 1994 available in the Agoos BIDMC Library Online 1 year delay due to publisher's restrictions. An international journal of general surgery. Features original and review articles, surgical research reports, short notes and case reports. Also includes columns, book reviews and a calender of meetings

Cover Art
Canadian Journal of Surgery
ISBN: 0008428X,14882310
Publication Date: 8/1/2004 to present

HPB Surgery- A World Journal of Hepatic Pancreatic and Biliary Surgery.
ISBN: ISSN:08948569,16078462
Publication Date: 01/01/2011 - present

International Journal of Shoulder Surgery
ISBN: ISSN:09736042
Publication Date: 01/01/2007 - present

International Journal of Shoulder Surgery
ISBN: ISSN: 0973-6042
Publication Date: 1/1/2007 - present

Journal of Cardiothoracic Surgery
ISBN: 1749-8090
Publication Date: 01/01/2006 - present

Journal of Cardiovascular Surgery
ISBN: 00219509
Publication Date: V.33, 1992 - V.47, 2006
PRINT only in the Argoos Library collection

Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery
ISBN: 1091-255X, 1873-4626
Publication Date: 1997 to present

Journal of Neurointerventional Surgery
ISBN: 1759-8478, 1759-8486
Publication Date: 1/1/2009 - present

Journal of Orthopaedic Surgery & Research
ISBN: 1749-799X
Publication Date: 1/1/2006 - present

Journal of Plastic Surgery and Hand Surgery
ISBN: 0284-4311, 1651-2073
Publication Date: 05/01/1998 to present (with a 18 Month delay)

Journal of Vascular Surgery
ISBN: 0741-5214
Publication Date: Print only V.2 1985 - v. 26, 1997 and v. 47 2008 - v.50, 2009
In Knowledge Services Print Collection

Multimedia Manual of Cardiothoracic Surgery
ISBN: 18139175.
Publication Date: 1/1/2003 - present
Presents information on cardiovascular and thoracic surgical procedures; includes how-to descriptions along with informative videos and drawings to illustrate all the key points from the article.

National Journal of Maxillofacial Surgery
ISBN: 09755950(print) 22293418(online).
Publication Date: 1/1/2010 - present

Cover Art
Plastic and reconstructive surgery.
ISBN: 00321052(print)15294242(online).
Publication Date: Online 01/01/1996 - present In print
v. 89, 1992 - v. 104, 1999 and current year & previous year

THIS SITE IS MAINTAINED BY KNOWLEDGE SERVICES AT THE BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER.
CLICK HERE TO ASK A QUESTION OR REPORT A PROBLEM.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip